What I Miss & Don’t Miss About Korea!!!

Well I have just had one of the most AMAZING years of my life living abroad in South Korea!! It was definitely the BEST decision I’ve ever made in my 24 short years on this planet so far! On November 3rd, 2011, received a text message from Kristin at EduCon in Chicago saying I passed my interview! (What a FANTASTIC early birthday present!) Then on February 19th, 2012, Mikala, my best friend since about the 5th grade, drove me to the airport and sent me on my way for an early morning flight! For a year, Jeju Island was my home, and though I’m excited to be back home in America and being able to see my family and friends, I miss Jeju so much!! (Well I don’t miss everything…)

I miss the food!

Photo120531_001

I don’t miss people’s driving “skills.”

I miss my students!

I don’t miss the last minute way of life that my co-teachers seem to enjoy so much.

I miss the Olle trails!

I don’t miss the pushing and shoving.

I miss my co-teachers!

I don’t miss Korean’s confusion as to what side of the sidewalk you should walk on.

I miss riding the bus!

photo 2 (18)

I don’t miss riding the bus.

I miss clothes shopping!

I don’t miss not being able to try on clothes before you buy them.

I miss inexpensive traveling!

I don’t miss seeing women wearing heels EVERYWHERE!

I miss the cheap transportation!

I don’t miss Korean heating.

I miss my friends!!

I don’t miss not seeing any facial hair on men.

I could go on and on, but mostly, I miss Jeju!!
Jeju will always have a place in my heart.

Photo130103_001 Halla

Leave a Reply

