The Bowling Stones!

Monday morning started off with some bad news… My co-teacher Jinyoung got a call and then frantically said to me, “Brooke, I have to leave for business trip to hospital. Other teacher will explain. Bye.” as she ran out the door. Sunghee explained to me that Landon, the other foreign teacher at my school, was in a bicycle accident and was taken to the hospital up in Jeju City by ambulance. She didn’t know how it happened or what was wrong with him yet… I just hope he’s okay!

6th grade was well behaved on Monday. The 6-6 class (the naughties) were given assigned seats and they did not like that AT ALL!! They normally have assigned seats that we change every 6 weeks or so, but the students get to pick their seats. They didn’t like not having the choice, but I’m really glad Sunghee is finally using some discipline and standing her ground!! FINALLY!!

After school on Monday I headed up to Jejusi and met up with Karima at a little coffee shop. We hung out for a little bit and then headed over to a little restaurant for our friend Kristin’s birthday! Kristin works at Halla Middle School, which is the school that I helped out with the book festival back in October, and some of her co-teachers came. It was nice to see them again and chat a little bit. We all shared pajeon, some spicy tofu/ham soup (?), drinks, and some laughs! It was a nice little get together! Then Shannon and Harold came in and surprised her with a Hello Kitty cake! Yum!

Happy Birthday Kristin!

Happy Birthday Kristin!

On my way out the door Tuesday morning, my landlord caught me and said she had something for me! A little package!! My friend, Codi, sent me a little ornament for my tree. It’s one of those Willow figurines called the Angel of Learning! Since my tree is too small to support this, it’s just going to keep me company at my desk! Thank you Codi!

Keeping me company at work!

Keeping me company at work!

Then when I got home from school that same day, there were some cards waiting for me in the mailbox!! Yay! I love getting mail! (Except junk mail of course.)

Yay to birthday cards!!

Yay to birthday cards!!

Wednesday morning, I opened a new pair of socks and was a little surprised when I took off the tag. I bought the socks because of the cute little character on them, but underneath the tag it said “Daddy I love you.” Haha I guess my socks were meant to be dedicated to my dad that day.🙂

I love Korean socks!

I love Korean socks!

Since the 4 Corners game was such a hit with the 3rd and 4th graders, I thought I’d see how the 5th graders like it… SUCCESS!! During my after school classes, I always begin by asking the weather, the day, and the date. After the 1st/2nd grade class told me the date, I pointed out that it was 12-12-12… “Wooooah.” Haha they were so amazed.

On Thursday, there was finally room in a car for me to go see Landon in the hospital with the other teachers. He was doing a lot better than I expected spirit-wise. He told me about the unfortunate event… It was a little rainy Monday morning and he was trying to find a shorter cut to the ferry terminal to go teach at one of the tiny island schools off the coast of Jeju. There was a net up, maybe a tennis net, that he didn’t see and flew right over it. Bust up his lip, teeth, nose, and cheek bones. He got stitches in his lips and will be having surgery to put metal plates over the cheek bones. Ouch! And he’ll be stuck in the hospital for a couple weeks at least.

I had Hosun bring me to get him a few things to keep Landon busy while he’s in the hospital. I got him some nice colored pencils for his drawings and a Sudoku book. When we were finished, Hosun didn’t bring me back to the hospital but dropped me off down the road. Apparently, I was going to have dinner with Kyoungnam!! She is the teacher that has her desk in the English office but isn’t an English teacher. I can tell that she wants to get to know me better and I her, but we have a big language barrier! She’s been learning a lot more English, which is exciting! She took me to a restaurant that her older sister was working at, but I’m guessing her sister owns it. We had some delicious, mildly spicy pork spine soup… YUM!!

After dinner, I went back to the hospital to give Landon his gifts. While I was waiting, an older Korean man with a broken leg in a wheel chair came up and started talking to me in very clear English! He asked if I was Landon’s girlfriend… Nope, just chingu (friend). He also asked if I’d be back to visit and that he hopes to see me again. Haha I’ll see what I can do.

Karima suggested that I play a certain weather song for my students because her students LOVED it! Well I tried it with my 3rd graders because our chapter was talking about weather a little bit… and they LOVED it! I had them just listen to it the first time around while I did all the goofy gestures at the front of the class, then I played it again and had them all stand up and do the gestures with me. So fun! Check it out for yourself!

After school on Friday, all the English teachers and Kyoungnam went out for our Christmas dinner. We went to a western food place… YES!! It was delicious. We ordered a bunch of dishes and shared. Bulgogi pizza, pork cutlets, spaghetti, and cream spaghetti! I also gave them all little Christmas gifts of Bath & Body Works lotion. They really liked that and it was fun to watch them all test the different scents.🙂

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

A package from Colorado arrived for me at school! I decided to resist the urge to open it and wait for Christmas! Can’t wait!!

Jeju Furey Bowling Tournament

Jeju Furey holds lots of different tournaments to raise money for people in need on the island. (Here’s their website to read their story: http://jejufurey.weebly.com/index.html) This weekend they held their bowling tournament. I was on a team with Amber, Leo, and Sachin and we were the Bowling Stones! We did pretty awesome! Usually my first game score is my best and it goes downhill from there. My goal for the day was to break 100 every game… Mission accomplished!! Game 1- 107! Game 2- 121! Game 3- 110! Game 4- 110! Yay!! Leo had a pretty awesome game one time with 5 (yes, five!) strikes in a row!! Insane!! Our team got 4th place overall with a final team score of 1,772 pins! Nice work team!!

Game #1 with the girls!

Game #1 with the girls!

Go Amber!

Go Amber!

5 Strikes in a row for Leo!!!

5 Strikes in a row for Leo!!!

Almost biffing it over the line! Woops.

Almost biffing it over the line! Woops.

Go Sachin!

Go Sachin!

Another strike to add to the list?

Another strike to add to the list?

And it wouldn’t be a Jeju Furey event without a little alcohol involved…

Thanks to Evan and Brendan, it was a very entertaining day!

Thanks to Evan and Brendan, it was a very entertaining day!

Go Evan!

Go Evan!

It's been a long day...

It’s been a long day…

And I discovered the store downstairs had cheese balls that actually tasted like cheese balls... WIN!!

And I discovered the store downstairs had cheese balls that actually tasted like cheese balls… WIN!!

Afterwards, a few of us went to Gun’s Seafood for dinner. We all got something different and shared a little with everyone. I got prawns and fries, Leo got king fish and fries (or fish and chips as everyone calls it), Sean got a pork cutlet and fries, and Amber got this prawn and cheese dish… That was pretty tasty!! Karima met up with us after we were done. We did some shopping for some socks and then headed back to Seogwipo! A lovely Saturday well spent!

Olle 4

DSC03075

It was a little difficult getting up Sunday morning, but I did it! And headed off to do Olle 4. It’s the longest Olle at 23 km! I started at 8:45 am and finished at 1:35 pm… Only 4 hours and 50 minutes!! Oh yeah! It went along the coast for a while and then went inland a bit. I walked/ran up and oreaum (small parasite volcano/giant hill/small mountain/whatever you want to call it) and ran all the way down! (Except the part of the trail that had stairs… I figured it would be a bad idea to run down those considering how they’re built here.) It felt great!

After running up the oreum!

After running up the oreum!

Hallasan floating above the clouds!

Hallasan floating above the clouds!

I also came across what I believe to be a new temple! Nothing was painted and it looked like they may have been still building a little… So I’m just assuming. (But you know what happens when you assume…) The weather was spectacular, especially considering it’s the middle of December! I was very glad to have finished when I did because I was exhausted!

New temple...?

New temple…?

Up on a smoke mound!

Up on a smoke mound!

I was talking to Seunghee’s daughter, Hyun-jeong and she told me she had a secret that I can’t tell anyone… Don’t tell her I told you! She told me she found out Santa isn’t real. I said, “Why do you think that?” She told me she saw her parents hide presents under the couch… Oops. Way to go Seunghee!!

Leave a Reply

