Congratulations! Happy Birthday to You!

Monday did not start out how I would’ve liked. Our first class on Mondays is the 6-6 class (the worst behaved class). They were talking the whole time like they normally do and Sunghee just snapped. She yelled at them and then just sat at the desk and didn’t say anything. Then she turned around and faced the wall for a while. I think she was crying.šŸ˜¦ This lasted for the rest of class and for the whole break period afterwards… So about 30-40 minutes at least. The kids kept looking back at me like “What’s going on?” I didn’t do or say anything. It was so awkward, but I felt like it wasn’t my place to do anything. Eventually their homeroom teacher came in, probably wondering (and mildly shocked) why the classroom was so quiet. The rest of the classes weren’t too bad. Sunghee didn’t come to school the next day (I would have liked a break too if that happened to me!), so I had a free day of blogging!

I made up a new game for the 5th graders called Typhoon! Teams had to tell me the letter and number for the picture they wanted and then say the sentence for the picture. Underneath the picture was either points or the letter “T.” If they got the letter “T,” they would lose their team’s points and they could also wipe out another team’s points! They LOVED that idea!Ā 

Typhoon!!

Typhoon!!

Since Friday is my birthday, I decided to share a little tradition with my students. When I was in elementary school, it was custom to bring treats for your birthday to share with everyone! So I brought candy for my students… I have over 400 students! And as expected, my 3rd grader were ECSTATIC about this!! So to keep my bank account from freaking out, I bought a bunch of little candies from Emart (the Korean Wal-Mart) and they loved it! And for the rest of the week I heard “Congratulations Brooke! Happy Birthday to You!” Haha I wonder where they got “Congratulations” from. Nonetheless, it put a big smile on my face every time!

On Thursday after my classes, two of the 3rd grade girls came to the English office looking for me. They brought me birthday gifts!! Haesoo (my favorite 3rd grader!) gave me a card and a little teddy bear cell phone charm that her and her mom made for me! And little Nayeun came to give me a birthday card as well! Sweeties!šŸ™‚

From some 3rd grade sweeties!!

From some 3rd grade sweeties!!

And the insides in English!!

And the inside is in English!!

Great job girls!!

Great job girls!!

Some classes got switched around this week. My 3rd grade classes were cancelled and 4th grade got moved to Friday. Hosun, my 3rd & 4th grade co-teacher, left Thursday for a conference on the mainland. So I taught the 4th graders all by myself this week for the first time, with the help of their wonderful homeroom teachers being in the room so they wouldn’t get too out of control!

“Happy Birthday Brooke Teacher!”

Throughout the day on Friday I was showered with gifts and cards and candy from students!! It was so sweet! I thought I would get a few cards, but I was not expecting what I got! Then Jinyoung, my 5th grade co-teacher, brought me a cake complete with candles for me to blow out after all the teachers sang “Happy Birthday” to me. It was so great! I felt like a little 5 year old again just giddy with excitement about my birthday and so lucky to have such awesome students and co-teachers! My 3rd/4th grade after school class made me a Choco Pie “cake” with suckers for the candles. After they sang “Happy Birthday” to me, I shared with all of them.

I was a little spoiled by some awesome students!!

I was a little spoiled by some awesome students!!

My delicious cake!!

My delicious cake!!

My Choco Pie Cake!

My Choco Pie Cake!

Haha the girls didn't like Ookyoung poking his head in!

Haha the girls didn’t like Ookyoung poking his head in!

After school I headed up to Jeju City for the evening birthday activities! Before dinner, I went to Seunghee’s house. Her daughters had some birthday gifts for me! A notebook, a thermos, and an awesome rainbow colored pencil! Then I headed to Raj Mahal for my delicious birthday dinner of butter chicken curry and butter nan with some wonderful friends! Thank you so much to Evan, Jen, Lauren, Becca, Sean, Terry, Sarah, and Miriah for joining me! And an extra special thanks to Evan for buying my birthday dinner!! After that, Leo and my other friend Sarah met up with me and Terry and headed to Boobi Boobi for some after dinner drinks! Red soju slush is delicious!!! Karima and Evan joined us a little later! Drinks, delicious fried food, and good conversation!! We also really enjoyed the bell ringing every time a table pressed their waiter button… After we got our fill of drinks, we headed to Island Stone (aka the foreigner bar in Shicheong/City Hall)!! It was a great time! Got to see some more friends and enjoy some more birthday drinks and shots!

Yummy red soju slushie!!

Yummy red soju slushie!!

Me & Evan... Evan being Evan!

Me & Evan… Evan being Evan!

Me and my amazing friend and roommate!!!

Me and my amazing friend and roommate!!!

Me & Jay... Almost spilling my shot!!

Me & Jay… Almost spilling my shot!!

Me & Miss Jennipa!! (How Koreans generally pronounce her name.)

Me & Miss Jennipa!! (How Koreans generally pronounce her name.)

Me, Terry, & some other crazies!

Me, Terry, & some other crazies!

Cheers to a lovely birthday!!

Cheers to a lovely birthday!!

Then Billy took Karima, and I headed over to do Sticker Photos!! There are little shops you can go to that have different accessories for you to try on. Then you go into a little photo booth and take a bunch of pictures. When you’re finished, you can edit the pictures and draw on them and do whatever you want to them. It was a good time! Thanks Billy!!

Take #5

Take #1

Take #1

Take #2

Take #2

Take #3

Take #4

Take #4

Take #5

Take #5

Take #6

Take #6

Take #7

Take #7

Saturday, I met up with my friend Tyler to talk about ideas for a lesson plan since he’ll be helping out with my school’s winter English camp. I really wanted to try Mr. Pizza because I had heard a lot of good things about it. We decided to go for the Build-Your-Own Pizza. We ordered cheese, pepperoni, olives, and corn. When the pizza came out, it was cut into 8 slices just like any normal pizza. Each slice was covered with corn and cheese, but there was only one slice of pepperoni on each piece along with one slice of an olive on top of the pepperoni. Haha don’t want to overdo it or anything! Then Tyler treated me for my birthday! Thanks Tyler!šŸ™‚

On Sunday, Becca, Sarah, and I went out to Ssoesokkak (don’t even bother attempting to say that word out loud- haha!) to go to the Stone Cafe! We arrived a little early and they weren’t open yet, so we had dessert before dinner at a little place up the road. Hallabong ice cream! Then at Stone Cafe, none of us could decide between chicken strips or a burger… So we just ordered 2 plates of each and split them up between the 3 of us! YUM!! After dinner, we headed back to check out Sarah’s apartment that’s she’s been decorating for Christmas. Since we were walking past Baskin Robbins, we thought it was best to have an after-dinner dessert as well! Then we went up to Sarah’s apartment… It is a beautiful Christmas winter wonderland and she’s not even done yet. We just sat there and listened to Christmas music for a while. She also introduced me to an awesome Christmas song!! I hope you enjoy! (Warning! Some words in this song may not be suitable for your little kids’ ears… Listen first and you decide!)

Leave a Reply

