Birthday Month Awesomeness Begins!!

Happy Halloween!!

For Halloween, I walked down to my friends apartment. A few of us were just hanging out and watching Hocus Pocus! Great movie! Billy also made everyone the most amazing grilled cheeses!! Gouda and mozzerella grilled cheese complete with Lowry’s powder and garlic salt… YUM!! We also had some yummy, delicious, buttery popcorn and of course some candy! A lovely way to celebrate Halloween away from home!

Now let the birthday month madness begin!!

I played a fun game with the 4th graders this week! The chapter is called “How much is it?” I would show a picture and give them a price range (It’s between $6-$17.) and they would have to guess the price with their group. Once they wrote it on their white board, they would hold it up and say “It’s $…” It was probably the lowest scoring game we’ve ever played in class because they hardly ever guessed the correct price, but they still loved it! It seems that no matter what game I play, as long as I incorporate the white boards then it’s a hit! (We’ll see how long this lasts…)

In 6th grade, we are on the chapter “What do you want to be?” I played a white board game with them for this as well. I would shout out different jobs and they had to draw it. The last one of the class I yelled out “Brooke Teacher!” I just expected them to draw a quick version of something that looks like a teacher, but they actually took their time and tried to make the picture look nice. Then one group held theirs up and didn’t have a person drawn at all. I said, “What?” They replied, “A flower! Brooke is beautiful like a flower.” As soon as they said that, all the other groups put their boards down and quickly incorporated a flower somewhere in their picture. Haha if anything, this job is good for my body image.🙂

I learned a new skill this week… Knitting! A friend of mine, Becca, used to belong to a group called Stitch ‘n’ Bitch up in Jejusi. Now that she moved down to Seogwipo, there wasn’t any group like that. So she made one and invited me to come along. I had no idea what I was doing, but she is a good teacher and I learned very quickly! My first project is a scarf. Didn’t want to get to crazy right off the bat.

Foreign Language Festival

Every November, the Jeju POE (Provincial Office of Education) puts on the Foreign Language Festival. All the English teachers are responsible for different booths for the different English-speaking countries we are from. There are also high school students there who set up booths for other languages they are studying. Then students of all ages come to the festival and learn about different countries and languages.

Hand Turkeys and Paper Pumpkins!!

I was working in the American/Canadian corner. For our activities, students could make hand turkeys, paper pumpkins, make s’mores (in a microwave and with saltine crackers once we ran out of the “graham crackers” – so sad), and play frisbee golf. It was pretty fun! When I wasn’t on duty in the American/Canadian corner, I ventured out to see what the other countries were like. Over in South Africa corner, we played a marbles game called Marbles (very creative name right there) and French Cricket (which quite interesting and very fun). Then over in England, we played Cricket. I didn’t know how to play and the guys weren’t explaining anything, so for the first 5 minutes all I was doing was hitting the ball and nothing else. Haha woops.

Later on, 3 of my 6th graders and my co-teacher Jinyoung came to the festival. They were just at the Golden Bell competition and decided to come to the festival afterwards. At our festival, there was a little “Jeju’s Got Talent” tent. So earlier this week we practiced some talents they could do with English. We did something simple like a hand clapping game (I’m actually not sure on the correct term for it.) and jump roping. For the hand clapping game, we sang a little tune about Kit Kats that went like this…

Give me a break, give me a break.
Break me off a piece of that Kit Kat bar.
Chocolate and it’s good, it’ll make your day,
Because wherever you go, you hear the people say,
Give me a break, give me a break.
I wanna take a break with that,
Wanna take a break with that,
Wanna take a break with that Kit Kat bar!

Practicing with Hee-joo, Bo-yun, and Jin!!

Then we jump roped to “Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear”…

Teddy bear, teddy bear turn around.
Teddy bear, teddy bear touch the ground.
Teddy bear, teddy bear jump up high.
Teddy bear, teddy bear touch the sky.
Teddy bear, teddy bear bend down low.
Teddy bear, teddy bear touch your toes.
Teddy bear, teddy bear turn out the light.
Teddy bear, teddy bear say good night!

Bo-yun jump roping to Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear!!

They had fun and won some cool prizes! Then after the festival, a bunch of us went out for galbi (another delicious Korean BBG) down by the Seogwipo Harbor. YUM!

Some yummy galbi!!

Chujado Olle 18-1

Saturday morning, I headed up to Jejusi to the ferry terminal. I was on my way to Chujado, which is an island northwest of Jeju. It has the hardest Olle on it. The ferry ride was about 1-1 1/2 hours. Once I got there, a woman from the pension where I’ll be staying picked me up and brought me to the pension. I dropped my stuff off and headed out right away. I started the Olle at 11:00 am. I didn’t want to waste anytime and have to worry about finishing the Olle after the sun goes down. It was definitely the hardest Olle I’ve done yet! Up and down GIANT hills the whole time! I also climbed the highest point on Chujado at 164 meters, Cheong-oon Mountain! What a workout! I finished the Olle at 4:30 pm. It took 4 1/2 hours to finish the very difficult 17.7 km course! It may have been the hardest Olle, but it was definitely the most beautiful!!

The view of the town and harbor on Upper Chujado!

Up by the lighthouse looking down at the bridge that connects Upper and Lower Chujado!

A view of the beautiful stone beach!!

The view from the top of Cheong-oon Mountain!

Highest point on Chujado!

I love taking pictures from the giant binoculars scattered about on the Olle…

A little boat..

Another island…

A little village…

A big boat…

After my Olle, all I wanted to do was take a long, hot shower at the pension. This proved to be more difficult than I expected. I was pushing the right buttons in the room to get the hot water going, but nothing was working. I went outside to find someone. It wasn’t really clear where the office of the pension was or who was in charge, so I went up to the only people I saw. Not helpful at all. They just looked at me. (Awkward!) So I went back to my room. So frustrated! I’m exhausted and sore and all I want to do is take a shower! I then called one of my co-teachers, but she wasn’t answering. I eventually remembered that I had my other co-teacher’s number as well, so I called her up. Once I got her on the phone, I went outside to find someone and finally someone was able to help me! Turns out the gas was out for my hot water. Once it was fixed, it was hot shower time! It felt soooo good after that hike! I also blow dried my hair… That was only the 2nd time I’ve blow dried my hair since I’ve been in Korea. For the rest of the night, I stayed in and ate kimbap and chips and watched movies!

Sunday morning, I woke up after sleeping 12 hours and took another shower! Oh it felt so good last night, I couldn’t resist. The water pressure is amazing compared to the shower at home in Seogwipo! Then a lady from the pension drove me down to the harbor so I could take the ferry back to Jeju.

A great way to end the first week of this fabulous birthday month! 

Leave a Reply

