Oosh!!

“Oosh” is what you say to a Mongolian horse when you want it to stop or slow down if you’re going really fast. Sometimes they would listen, other times they would keep on going giving you that “Whateva! Whateva! I do what I want!” kind of attitude. (I hope you all can appreciate a good South Park quote every now and then. I know my brother Dillon would if he were reading this. If you are reading this, I LOVE YOU DILLON!!)🙂

Day 5 of Horse Trek

One last walk around this beautiful place before we head out!

After a good ol’ breads and spreads breakfast, we headed out of camp around 11:30am. We stopped for lunch at the same spot we did 2 days ago at about 2:30pm. Urna made us some Mongolian bibimbap. (For those of you unaware, bibimbap is a Korean dish of rice mixed with some vegetables, sauce, and sometimes an egg.) The Mongolian (Urna’s) version was rice with the good old vegetables and goat meat we’ve had with every other meal.

Shortly after lunch, we ran into a man that we had chatted with on the way through the other day. He spoke a little bit of Korean, so we were able to answer a few questions he had. He offered to show us his home. He (the oldest brother) lived with his parents and his 3 younger adult brothers. There were four gers and a little trailer house there and we sat in his parents’ ger talking for a little bit. Well, Urna talked and translated every now and then. We were treated with cows’ milk tea, homemade cheese, bread, and some candies. The oldest brother offered to go make us some food, so he left while Urna, Borka, Karima, and I stayed and chatted. It was taking quite a while, so we decided to walk over to the kitchen ger to see what the hold up was. We walked into something a little unexpected…

The 3rd brother was cutting up a goat and the 2nd brother made dough for fresh homemade noodles for some stew. They first boiled all the bones in the stew and then handed us a giant bowl of bones so we could eat the meat off of them. Then the dough the 2nd oldest brother (not shown in video, but he is the one in the blue plaid shirt in the video) was making was cut into strips and thrown in the stew as noodles. The man sitting in the back ground all the way to the left is the dad. The man sitting on the bed on the far side of the room is Borka, our luggage/horse caretaker. It was a pretty good meal, a little fatty, but good.

Getting dinner ready!

Eat up!

They let us have first dibs on the meaty bones. Then when we were done, they dug in. It was rather barbaric. Haha all I could think of when I saw the brothers and father eating the meat off the bones were cavemen.

Goats… It’s what’s for dinner.

The bathroom accomadations this family had… Well they had a squat toilet “outhouse” with no roof and the walls only came up just below my butt. It’s not too bad having to pull your pants down while squatting low enough so no one can see your bum, but pulling your pants back up is a whole ‘nother story!! In the picture below, you can see the oldest brother and their outhouse is the box in the background close to where his knee is…

Gettin ready for a lovely bathroom break..

Later on, Borka, Karima, and I went running with the horses. At one point, the horses instantly started running at full speed and then my horse, Malida, took a sudden turn and I almost fell head over heels off of him. My left foot slipped out of the stirrup and I pretty much lost grip of the saddle. I would’ve fell had it not been for my right foot staying in the other stirrup and holding onto his neck for dear life. For those of you that have never fallen off a horse or almost fallen off a horse, it is REALLY scary!!! I was wearing a helmet, but thankfully I didn’t have to find out if it was good enough to protect my head. I was a little shaken for a little bit and Borka came over to make sure I was alright. Then we kept riding and helped round up the horses. We also “helped” with the nightly chores, as in Karima and I each milked a cow for about a minute or two. Let’s just say I’ve now done it once and have no desire to do it again.

Milkin it!

Total distance for the day was about 20 kilometers.

Leave a Reply

