Last Day in Beijing!!

The Great Wall of China

This morning I got up early to go on the Secret Great Wall Hike tour the hostel offers. On our way, we passed a not-so-secret part of the Wall and it was packed! I was surprised because it was still pretty early for so many people to already be there. The Badaling part of the Wall that we saw had maybe 30 other people on it, besides the group of 9 that came from the hostel. I didn’t realize how much of a workout it would be! Straight up and straight down for the most part. Our guide said the wall is about 6,000 kilometers (or approximately 4,000 miles)!! It is massive and so beautiful! You could see the wall go over the peaks of all the hills around us. It seemed to be never-ending, just winding up and down hills everywhere! We climbed pretty high on the wall and probably got about 3/4 of the way to the highest peak… Maybe a little more than that. We spent a lovely few hours there and saw the part of the wall where the Mongolians broke through the wall. We saw many watch towers and there were also holes in the wall. These holes were angled down so that Chinese soldiers could more easily shoot the Mongolians coming up the hill. What an amazing time!! (It was hard to choose just a few pictures…)

At the bottom of the picture, you can see where the Mongolians broke through.

A nice steep walk up to the watch tower.

The Wall winding around the tops of the hills/mountains! So beautiful!

One of the shooting holes angled down to get a better shot at the Mongolians.

So happy!!

My 2nd attempt at a jumping photo… My photographer went a little click-happy and took it a little too early both times. Haha oh well.🙂

Made it to the 3/4 mark… Maybe more. Hot and sweaty and feeling GOOD!!

Oh happy day!!

Where the Mongolians broke through the Wall.

I wanted to try to go to the Forbidden City after we got back to the hostel, but it was too late. Oh well. Just one reason to come back to Beijing someday.🙂

Since I don’t have a working phone in China, Dolly agreed to meet me at my hostel at 5:30. She never showed. (Too bad I didn’t know the tea house was a scam, because then I would’ve known she wasn’t going to show up after she scammed me. Boo.)

While walking through the underground crosswalk one night in Beijing, I saw this man doing some calligraphy. Unable to use his hands, he attached the paintbrush to his glasses!

Tiananmen Square Flag Ceremony

Even though Dolly ditched me, I still wanted to go see the flag ceremony in Tiananmen Square. It starts at 7:15, so I thought I’d get there a little bit early. There were TONS of people there! People were crowded around the fence about 5 layers deep that surrounded the area where the flag was… So I couldn’t see ANYTHING, besides the flag up in the air. So I took videos, so I could later watch what the big fuss was all about.

This first video… About 10 seconds in, you will see this woman on the right side of the screen and she just stares at me for the longest time. I think the only reason she ever looks away, or pretends like she wasn’t staring at me, is because I look at her. Haha so awkward, but this happens often in my experience on this continent so far.

Here is the very beginning of the flag ceremony at Tiananmen Square in Beijing when the soldiers arrive.

Here is the part where the soldiers take down the flag in Tiananmen Square in Beijing. (2 videos)

Well that’s it Beijing! I’m really surprised how much I enjoyed this 2 day trip to Beijing! I thought it was going to be one of those rushed and exhausting trips. It was pretty chill and not nearly as stressful as I expected. I got to see everything I wanted to see (with the exception of the Forbidden City) and more!

Bye Beijing!!

🙂

2 thoughts on “Last Day in Beijing!!

  1. Dear Brooke, Made it home safe and sound. Thanks for a wonderful visit to JeJu. It was great to see what you do and how well you do it. Am sending a thankyou letter to your school. Talk to you later. Love, Gma Date: Sun, 9 Sep 2012 13:00:42 +0000 To: monicafad@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

